Call for Nominations – Mineral Springs Reserves Advisory Committee

The Mineral Springs Reserves Advisory Committee (MSRAC) will provide advice to assist Hepburn Shire Council plan, prioritise and implement maintenance works and major projects across all Mineral Springs Reserves located within the Shire, given parameters and funding opportunities.

Council invites community members and key stakeholders who have an interest in the Mineral Springs Reserves and who are interested in becoming a community representative on this Committee to submit a nomination for membership.

Nomination forms and a copy of the Committee’s Terms of Reference can be found below or by contacting Paulette Pleasance on

(03) 5321 6142 or via email

Completed nominations are to be lodged by Monday 17 December 2018 and can be emailed to or mailed to:

Mineral Springs Reserve Advisory Committee Nominations
C/- Paulette Pleasance
Hepburn Shire Council
PO Box 21
Daylesford  VIC  3460

Nomination Form Mineral Springs Reserves Advisory Committee

Terms Of Reference – Mineral Springs Reserve Advisory Committee 

Hepburn Shire Biodiversity Strategy 2018-2021 Adopted

The Hepburn Shire Biodiversity Strategy 2018-2021 was adopted at the 20 November 2018 Council meeting.

The strategy outlines the commitment of the Council to protect and enhance Hepburn’s unique biodiversity.   It identifies on-ground works, actions to increase Council’s capacity and to support community action and awareness.  Specific actions include the Council’s expanded roadside weeds program, a biodiversity forum and baseline assessments of biodiversity on council managed properties.

Click here to download a copy of the strategy

Australia Day Awards 2019 – Nominations Open

Do you know an outstanding Australian in the Hepburn Shire that could be nominated for an Australia Day Award?

Council is inviting nominations for the following Awards:

  • Hepburn Shire Council Citizen of the Year
  • Hepburn Shire Council Young Citizen of the Year
  • Hepburn Shire Council Community Event of the Year

Please send completed, confidential nomination forms by 5pm, Wednesday 2 January 2019, to:

Katherine Toom
Governance and Information Coordinator
Hepburn Shire Council
PO Box 21
Daylesford Victoria 3460

or email to

Australia Day 2019 – Nomination Form Local Awards – Guidance Document

Australia Day 2019 – Nomination Form – Local Awards

Working Towards the Safe Disposal of e-Waste

We’re working towards the safe disposal of e-waste.  We are about to commence key infrastructure works in preparation for the state-wide ban on e-waste entering landfill, which comes into effect on 1 July 2019.

With the help of Victorian Government funding, Council will build important e-waste collection infrastructure at the following transfer stations:

  • Daylesford ($88,750)
  • Creswick ($88,750)

E-waste can be described as anything with a plug or battery that has reached the end of its useful life. It includes everything from old mobile phones, computers and related equipment, audio devices, refrigerators and other white goods, hair driers, TVs, heaters, and air-conditioners.

The amount of e-waste generated in Victoria is projected to increase from 109,000 tonnes in 2015 to approximately 256,000 tonnes in 2035.

Click here for more on e-Waste 

Cr Don Henderson & Cr Kate Redwood AM elected Mayor and Deputy Mayor

At the meeting held last night, Council elected Councillors Don Henderson (Creswick Ward) and Kate Redwood AM (Birch Ward) as Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

Cr Henderson commenced in his role of Councillor in 2008.

Mayor Cr Henderson said that he intended to use the office of Mayor to build closer ties with other municipalities in the region.

“The time has come to share resources and help each other to grow.  My intention is to also build relationships with bodies such as VicRoads, Regional Roads Victoria, Regional Development Victoria and others,” said Cr Henderson.

Evan King, CEO, congratulated Councillors Don Henderson and Kate Redwood AM on their election.

“Cr Henderson and Cr Redwood have the skills and knowledge to effectively lead our Council over the coming year.   I look forward to working closely with the new Mayor and Deputy Mayor as we move into another busy year in 2019,” said Mr King.

Image – Cr Kate Redwood AM (Deputy Mayor), Evan King (CEO) & Cr Don Henderson (Mayor)

Fire Danger Period Declared – Commencing 12 November 2018

The Fire Danger period for the Hepburn Shire will commences at 0100 hours on 12 November 2018 and will remain in place until 1 May 2019 unless stated otherwise.

This means you cannot light a fire in the open air unless you have a permit or comply with certain requirements.

If you don’t obtain a permit, you could be breaking the law and may be prosecuted.  Penalties may include a fine up to $19,342 and/or up to 12 months’ imprisonment.

For guides on what you can and can’t do during the Fire Danger Period or on days of total fire ban visit