Select Page


Council’s transfer stations accept e-waste free of charge (excluding fridges and freezers – see fees at transfer stations).  Small e-waste (up to the size of a laptop) can also be taken to one of our customer service hubs – Daylesford, Creswick, Clunes and Trentham – for recycling.

E-waste refers to any item with a plug, battery or cord that is no longer working or wanted.  It covers a whole range of items from work, home and even the garden shed.  To protect our environment and recover more precious resources, the Victorian Government banned all e-waste from landfill from 1 July 2019.

Click here for more information e-waste ban

Why recycle e-Waste?

All e-waste can contain hazardous materials. These can range from heavy metals such as lead, mercury and cadmium to ozone-depleting chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) and flame retardants.  These substances can leach into soil and groundwater, or release into the air, creating long term environmental contamination issues. Many of these substances are particularly dangerous because they do not break down easily, meaning they stay in the environment for a very long time.