

HEPBURN SHIRE COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL PUBLIC MINUTES

TUESDAY 14 JANUARY 2020

DAYLESFORD SENIOR CITIZENS ROOMS

76 VINCENT STREET

DAYLESFORD

9:00AM



MINUTES

TUESDAY 14 JANUARY 2020

Daylesford Senior Citizens Rooms

76 Vincent Street, Daylesford

Commencing 9:00AM

CONTENTS PAGE

1.	ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF TRADITIONAL OWNERS	3
2.	SAFETY ORIENTATION	3
3.	OPENING OF MEETING	3
4.	APOLOGIES	4
5.	DECLARATIONS OF CONFLICTS OF INTEREST	4
6.	CONFIDENTIAL ITEMS	4
	6.1. CLOSURE OF MEETING TO MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC	4
7.	REOPENING OF MEETING TO PUBLIC	5
8.	CLOSE OF MEETING	5

EVAN KING CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER 14 JANUARY 2020

1. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF TRADITIONAL OWNERS

We would like to acknowledge we are meeting on Jaara people country, of which members and elders of the Dja Dja Wurrung community and their forebears have been custodians for many centuries.

On this land, the Jaara people have performed age old ceremonies of celebration, initiation and renewal.

We acknowledge their living culture and their unique role in the life of this region.

2. SAFETY ORIENTATION

3. OPENING OF MEETING

This Special Meeting of Council has been called to decide on the recipients for the 2020 Australia Day Awards.

The next Ordinary Meeting of Council will be held on Tuesday 18 February 2020 at the Daylesford Senior Citizens Rooms. Any normal Council business and public participation time will be conducted at that time.

PRESENT: Mayor Licia Kokocinski, Cr Kate Redwood AM, Cr Don Henderson, Cr Fiona Robson, Cr Greg May, Cr John Cottrell

IN ATTENDANCE: Mr Evan King Chief Executive Officer, Mr Bruce Lucas Director Infrastructure and Development Services, Mr Bradley Thomas Director Community and Corporate Services, Ms Katherine Toom Coordinator Governance and Information

STATEMENT OF COMMITMENT

"WE THE COUNCILLORS OF HEPBURN SHIRE DECLARE THAT WE WILL UNDERTAKE ON EVERY OCCASION TO CARRY OUT OUR DUTIES IN THE BEST INTERESTS OF THE COMMUNITY AND THAT OUR CONDUCT SHALL MAINTAIN THE STANDARDS OF THE CODE OF GOOD GOVERNANCE SO THAT WE MAY FAITHFULLY REPRESENT AND UPHOLD THE TRUST PLACED IN THIS COUNCIL BY THE PEOPLE OF HEPBURN SHIRE"

4. APOLOGIES

Cr Neil Newitt

5. DECLARATIONS OF CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

No notifications of any conflict of interest were made by Councillors present.

6. CONFIDENTIAL ITEMS

6.1. CLOSURE OF MEETING TO MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

That pursuant to the provisions of Section 89(2) of the Local Government Act 1989, the meeting be closed to the public in order to consider:

 (h) Any other matter which the Council or special committee considers would prejudice the Council or any person.

RECOMMENDATION

6.1.1. That the meeting be closed to members of the public under Section 89(2) of the Local Government Act 1989, specifically the following subsection:

- 89(2)(h) any other matter which the Council or special committee considers would prejudice the Council or any person;
- o Recipients of the 2020 Australia Day Awards

MOTION

- 6.1.1. That the meeting be closed to members of the public under Section 89(2) of the Local Government Act 1989, specifically the following sub-section:
 - 89(2)(h) any other matter which the Council or special committee considers would prejudice the Council or any person;
 - o Recipients of the 2020 Australia Day Awards

Moved: Cr Kate Redwood AM Seconded: Cr Don Henderson Carried

The meeting was closed to the public at 9.05 am

7. REOPENING OF MEETING TO PUBLIC

8. CLOSE OF MEETING

The meeting was closed at 9.50 am