

HEPBURN SHIRE COUNCIL SWEARING IN OF HEPBURN SHIRE COUNCILLORS PUBLIC MINUTES

Thursday 19 November 2020

Daylesford Town Hall 76 Vincent Street Daylesford

6:30 PM

The ceremony will be conducted in person, but members of the public will not be able to attend in person due to the COVID-19 Pandemic restrictions.

A LIVE STREAM OF THE MEETING CAN BE VIEWED VIA COUNCIL'S FACEBOOK PAGE

Confirmed at the Ordinary Meeting of Council held 1 December 2020

Chair, Cr Lesley Hewitt, Mayor



MINUTES

Thursday 19 November 2020

Daylesford Town Hall

76 Vincent Street Daylesford

Commencing at 6:30 PM

TABLE OF CONTENTS

1 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF TRADITIONAL OWNERS	3
2 OPENING OF MEETING	3
3 APOLOGIES	3
4 OATH OR AFFIRMATION OF OFFICE	3
5 CLOSE OF MEETING	6

EVAN KING

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER Thursday 19 November 2020

2

1 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF TRADITIONAL OWNERS

We would like to acknowledge we are meeting on Jaara people country, of which members and elders of the Dja Dja Wurrung community and their forebears have been custodians for many centuries.

On this land, the Jaara people have performed age old ceremonies of celebration, initiation and renewal.

We acknowledge their living culture and their unique role in the life of this region.

2 OPENING OF MEETING

COUNCILLORS PRESENT: Cr Brian Hood, Cr Don Henderson, Cr Jen Bray, Cr Juliet Simpson, Cr Lesley Hewitt, Cr Tessa Halliday, Cr Tim Drylie **OFFICERS PRESENT:** Mr Evan King - Chief Executive Officer, Mr Bradley Thomas -Director Community and Corporate Services, Mr Bruce Lucas - Director Infrastructure and Development Services, Mr Chris Whyte – Manager Information and Communication Technology, Ms Krysten Forte - Manager Governance and Risk, Ms Rebecca Smith - Governance Specialist

The meeting opened at 6:00pm.

3 APOLOGIES

Nil.

4 OATH OR AFFIRMATION OF OFFICE

LEGISLATIVE REQUIREMENTS

Under the Local Government Act 2020, a person elected to be a Councillor is not capable of acting as a Councillor until the person has taken the oath or affirmation of office in the manner prescribed by the regulations.

The oath or affirmation of office must be:

- a) administered by the Chief Executive Officer; and
- b) dated and signed before the Chief Executive Officer; and
- c) recorded in the minutes of the Council, whether or not the oath or affirmation was taken at a Council meeting.

The office of a Councillor becomes vacant if a person elected to be a Councillor does not take the oath or affirmation of office within 3 months after the day on which the person was declared elected.

OATH OR AFFIRMATION OF OFFICE

Under the Local Government Act 2020, the following oath or affirmation of office is to be taken by a Councillor in accordance with Part 2 of the Oaths and Affirmations Act 2018:

3

"I will undertake the duties of the office of Councillor in the best interests of the municipal community. I will abide by the Councillor Code of Conduct and uphold the standards of conduct set out in the Councillor Code of Conduct. I will faithfully and impartially carry out and exercise the functions, powers, authorities and discretions vested in me under the Local Government Act 2020 and any other Act to the best of my skill and judgement.".

The Councillors-elect will be invited by the Chief Executive Officer to take the Oath or Affirmation of Office and sign the Code of Conduct as adopted by Council on 7 February 2020.

RECOMMENDATION

That Council:

- 1. Notes that the following Councillors have taken the have taken the Oath of Office;
 - •
- 2. Notes that the following Councillors have taken the have taken the Affirmation of Office:
 - •
- 3. Notes that all Councillors have signed the Hepburn Shire Councillor Code of Conduct adopted 7 February 2017; and
- 4. Makes the signed Councillor Code of Conduct available on Council's website.

Cr Jen Bray took the Affirmation of Office and signed the Councillor Code of Conduct. Cr Tim Drylie took the Affirmation of Office and signed the Councillor Code of Conduct.

Cr Tessa Halliday took the Affirmation of Office and signed the Councillor Code of Conduct.

Cr Lesley Hewitt took the Affirmation of Office and signed the Councillor Code of Conduct.

Cr Don Henderson took the Affirmation of Office and signed the Councillor Code of Conduct.

Cr Brian Hood took the Affirmation of Office and signed the Councillor Code of Conduct.

Cr Juliet Simpson took the Oath of Office and signed the Councillor Code of Conduct.

MOTION

That Council:

- 1. Notes that the following Councillors have taken the have taken the Oath of Office;
 - Cr Juliet Simpson
- 2. Notes that the following Councillors have taken the have taken the *Affirmation of Office;*
 - o Cr Jen Bray
 - o Cr Tim Drylie
 - Cr Tessa Halliday
 - Cr Lesley Hewitt
 - \circ Cr Don Henderson
 - \circ Cr Brian Hood
- 3. Notes that all Councillors have signed the Hepburn Shire Councillor Code of Conduct adopted 7 February 2017; and

4. Makes the signed Councillor Code of Conduct available on Council's website Moved: Cr Tessa Halliday Seconded: Cr Juliet Simpson

Carried

5 CLOSE OF MEETING

The Meeting closed at 6:47pm.