



MINERAL SPRINGS RESERVES ADVISORY COMMITTEE

DATE AMENDED: October 2021

DATE OF NEXT REVIEW: September 2024

RESPONSIBLE OFFICER: Director Infrastructure and Delivery

Introduction

Council is committed to working with the community to develop and plan delivery of maintenanceand capital improvement works for all Mineral Springs Reserves that Council is responsible for managing across the municipality.

Purpose

The Mineral Springs Reserves Advisory Committee (MSRAC) will provide advice to assist HepburnShire Council plan for, prioritise and implement maintenance works and major projects across all Mineral Springs Reserves within the given parameters and funding opportunities.

Scope

- To provide input and advice to Council, Council Officers,
 Consultants and Land Managers on major projects and
 maintenance needs and schedules.
- To provide input and advice to Council, Council Officers, Consultants and Land Managers on future needs and strategic planning for Mineral Springs Reserves across Hepburn Shire including long term improvement programs.
- To assist in sourcing and securing grant funding.

Hepburn SHIRE COUNCIL

▶ TERMS OF REFERENCE

- To include interpretive signage for bridges and pathways through the reserves.
- The Mineral Springs Reserves considered by this advisory committee are:
 - o Hepburn Mineral Spring Reserve, Hepburn
 - o Central Springs Reserve, Lake Daylesford, Daylesford
 - Houston Street Springs, Daylesford
 - o Thomas Springs, Franklinford
 - o Glenlyon Recreation Reserve, Glenlyon
 - o Woolnoughs Road Mineral Spring Reserve, Holcombe
 - o Jubilee Lake Reserve, Daylesford
 - Leitches Creek Spring Reserve, Daylesford

Principles

The MSRAC will act as an advisory body to Council and make recommendations to Council forconsideration. Final decision making will rest with Council.

Meetings

Meetings will be held on a four month cycle and will generally be aligned with:

- Councils budget development process December/January
- Project planning and scheduling April/May
- Financial reporting August /September

Committee support will be provided by a nominated Council officer.

Chair

The Chair will be the nominated Councillor appointed to the committee.

Committee Term

Each term of the committee will be 3 years.



► TERMS OF REFERENCE

There will be a spill of positions at the end of each committee term.

Members of Committee

Councillor membership of the MSRAC will generally be as listed below however other officers maybe requested to attend for specific purposes. Councillor membership is by agreement of Councillors. Permanent members will be:

- Hepburn Shire Councillor (1)
- Council Officer Director Infrastructure and Delivery (1)
- Council Officer Parks & Open Space Coordinator (1)
- Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (DELWP) (1)
- Community Panel Members (3 − 5)
- Representation from the Dja Dja Wurrung.

Legal Coverage for Members of Committee

Council's Insurance provides indemnity coverage for members of Council Committees who are acting on behalf of Council in good faith and in accordance with the relevant terms of reference.

Quorum

For voting purposes, a quorum will consist of 50% plus 1 of the designated committee membership.

Reporting

The MSRAC will forward minutes of meetings and any recommendations on all projects to be noted by Council at an Ordinary Meeting of Council. Council officers will facilitate reporting requirements.