Hepburn Shire Council is divided into five separate wards, each represented by at least one Councillor with two in Birch Ward and Creswick Ward.

Councillor Code of Conduct

Councillor Expenses

Birch Ward

Cr Kate Redwood AM
0428 285 673

BA, BSW Hons, and MBA studies Melbourne Business School. Cr Kate Redwood AM had an early career in public welfare. She held key positions of Director of Inner Urban Region and statewide Director of Children and Youth Out of Home Services. She has been Executive Director of Victorian Council of Social Services and member of the Australian Council of Social Services, Executive Director of Australian Red Cross Victoria (including the Blood Bank), and CEO of the Australian Physiotherapy Association.

Cr Redwood AM has served 9 years as a Director of State Trustees Victoria and Director of Melbourne Health respectively, and two terms as an elected Councillor for the City of Melbourne. She was awarded a Centenary Medal in 2001 for services to local government and the community and an Order of Australia (AM) in 2013 for services to Victoria.

Cr Pierre Niclas/Deputy Mayor
5321 6423/0428 322 454

Cr Pierre Niclas is a fully qualified and indentured Fitter and Turner, specialising in the installation and maintenance of heavy hydraulics and pneumatics driven processing equipment. Cr Niclas has completed and graduated various Deakin University Certificate courses in Business Management, Finance, Sales and Marketing.

Cr Niclas and his wife Simone were the owners and operators of the Hepburn Springs Post Office until recently, as well as a small web based business buying and selling antique goods and unique items of interest.

Cameron Ward

Cr Neil Newitt/Mayor
5321 6423/0400 906 599

Cr Neil Newitt and his family decided to move permanently to Clunes in 2006 after many years as weekend visitors. Cr Newitt is a professional photographer and runs a gallery in Fraser Street, Clunes, and this year opened a wine bar in the expanded business.

Cr Newitt has thirty years experience as a professional photographer working in newspapers in Queensland and Victoria, including regional and metropolitan mastheads. Senior Photographer and Pictorial Editor with The Age until 2005. Currently is a contributor to national media magazines.

Since moving to Clunes, Cr Newitt has been involved with many community, tourism and economic development and flood recovery committees.

Coliban Ward

Cr Sebastian Klein
0428 331 173

Cr Sebastian Klein was appointed President of the Victorian Local Governance Association in December 2013 and has enjoyed the strategic nature of the role, particularly developing innovative and collaborative approaches to some of the major issues facing local government, particularly around financial sustainability and community participation and involvement in local democracy.

Having completed a Bachelor of Agricultural Science in 2013, Cr Klein has gone on to work in project development for the Central Victorian Greenhouse Alliance and taken on work as a freelance consultant on efficient management practices in agriculture. He also completed the Australian Rural Leadership Program in early 2014 and continues to teach on horticultural and permaculture at the Diggers Club in Blackwood.

Creswick Ward

Cr Don Henderson
5345 2638/0427 559 684

Cr Don Henderson is a qualified carpenter and joiner, licensed asbestos remover and operator of earthmoving equipment. Cr Henderson also has a long career in the trade union movement as a safety and industrial relations consultant, former Secretary Building Works Industrial Union and advisor for Australian Workers’ Union (AWU). Cr Henderson is also a self employed construction contractor and founding Director of Tripstop group of companies that supply to council in Australia, USA and Canada.

Cr Greg May
0409 251 743

Cr Greg May worked for many years in the telecommunications sector but in recent years has been an organic farmer producing vegetables and wine. He has a keen interest in sport and recreation throughout the Shire and enjoys involvement with local sporting clubs and community groups.

Holcombe Ward

Cr Bill McClenaghan
5348 4677

Cr Bill McClenaghan graduated from Monash University in 1974 after majoring in history, geography/environmental sciences and education. He then worked as a secondary teacher for 17 years, specialising in history and geography, careers in and work education before leaving the Education Department to establish currently operating businesses in Daylesford.

Today, he works in more active outdoor vocations as a self-employed contractor. He was the foundation president of The Central Highland Tourist Railway and is a current board member and Company Secretary. He manages the weekly Sunday market, having commenced in that role in 1982.