Council Elections

The Hepburn Shire Council has 5 wards (electoral divisions), 3 represented by 1 elected Councillor and two represented by 2 elected Councillors. Each year one of the Councillors is elected to be Mayor by their peers. Since 2008, all Victorian Councillors serve a 4-year term.

The last general election for the Hepburn Shire Council was held on Monday 31 October 2016 and new Councillors were sworn in at a Special Council meeting on Tuesday 8 November 2016.

The next Council election is scheduled for Saturday 24 October 2020.

The Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) is responsible for administering Victorian Council elections.

You can find out more about Council elections on the VEC website.

Requests for information from Candidates during the 2020 Election Period

In line with Council’s Election Period Policy, an Information Request Register was maintained during the election period. This Register is a public document and records requests by persons who identify themselves as candidates when seeking information relating to electoral matters or when making other general enquiries. The register also records the responses provided.

Download the register.

Election Campaign Donations

The Local Government Act 1989 requires all candidates in a Council election to submit an election campaign donation return to the Chief Executive Officer within 40 days after election day.

The Chief Executive Officer must then submit a written report to the Minister for Local Government with 14 days advising the names of the candidates in the election and whether or not they submitted a return.

A summary of each election campaign donation return must be made available on Council’s website and include the name of the candidate and, if a gift is included in the return, the name of the person who made the gift and the total value of the gift received from that person.

View a summary of the election campaign donation returns below for the:

Election campaign donation returns are available for inspection at Council’s office, Corner Duke & Albert Streets during office hours until the entitlement date of the next election which will be held in 2020. To make an appointment to view the returns, please contact Krysten Forte, Manager Governance and Risk on  03 5321 6413.

WP-Backgrounds by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann