Audit and risk committee

The Audit and Risk Committee is a Committee of Council under Section 53 of the Local Government Act 2020. It is not a delegated Committee of Council and does not have any decision-making powers of Council.

Council is currently seeking new members for the Audit and Risk Committee. Find out more here.

What does it do?

The Audit and Risk Committee oversees risk, governance, financial management, and compliance.

It works to an adopted work plan and is governed by Council’s Audit and Risk Committee Charter(PDF, 233KB). This charter sets out the Committee’s objectives, authority, composition, responsibilities and reporting requirements.

As part of Council’s governance obligations to its community, the Committee oversees responsibilities in relation to the following:

  • Risk management
  • Financial statements
  • Internal controls and compliance
  • External audit
  • Internal audit

What doesn’t it do?

The Committee does not have executive powers or authority to implement actions in areas over which Council management has responsibility. The Committee does not have any management functions and is therefore independent of management, and makes recommendations to Council.

Current members

There are six members – two Councillors and four external independent members*:

  • Ms Carol Pagnon (Independent) – Chairperson
  • Mr Robert Taylor (Independent)
  • Mr Jason Young (Independent)
  • Cr Brian Hood, Mayor (Councillor representative)
  • Cr Juliet Simpson (Councillor representative)

*One independent member position is currently vacant and will be recruited to by the end of 2023.

Independent members are appointed for four years, and are eligible for reappointment once before they become ineligible.

When does it meet?

The Committee meets quarterly, with the following dates set for 2023.

  • Monday 27 March 2023
  • Monday 26 June 2023
  • Monday 11 September 2023
  • Monday 11 December 2023

Audit and Risk Committee meetings are not open to the public.